What new designers offer us, Salone del Mobile exhibition in Milan

    new-retro1

 ISaloni Exhibition in Milan

          In mid-April, there is only one place in the world where design lovers flock in the hundreds of thousands and return home with suitcases of catalogs, samples of materials and a full set of impressions from what they saw. And this, of course, is the furniture exhibition Salone del Mobile in Milan or iSaloni for short.

new-retro.jpg

No other design event can match the scale of what is happening in Milan. And it’s not just about iSaloni. The entire city for a week becomes a giant platform for presentations, installations and architectural exhibitions: cocktails, awards ceremonies, interviews, parties. In stores, in restaurants, here and there, journalists meet with red bags on wheels with the inscription iSaloni. You come across star designers at every step. Hotels and airlines raise prices several times, and the queues of people wishing to get into a taxi often stretch for hundreds of meters. Impossible to be mistaken – Milan hosts the world’s premier furniture fair and design week.

new-retro666

ISaloni celebrates its 55th anniversary this year. The exhibition included the International Salon of Furniture Accessories, as well as two biennials: the International Salon of Kitchen Furniture (Euro Cucina) and the International Salon of Bathrooms (Salone Internazionale del Bagno). A few days will not be enough to visit all 24 pavilions. This real design safari can be exhausting, but it is undoubtedly very inspiring..
The first thing you immediately notice is the new stand design. In the past few years, even top brands did not update the appearance of their sites and this was clearly due to the crisis. This year everything is different: all the stands are completely changed, and there are many new products in the collections. Which indirectly confirms the conclusion – the European market has recovered. And that’s great news!

new-retro2

The most important and predictable discovery in terms of design, which you immediately notice – the new retro trend has captured the minds of an overwhelming number of manufacturers. When entering any stand of modern furniture, you can safely close your eyes and name a few of the main signs of this trend that are present among the new products. With a high probability, you will get to the point. It will always be a combination of marble, brass and velvet in dusty shades..

milano-salone-del-mobile-4

Combining all these elements is an absolutely commercial move. This is neither bad nor good, that is why he is a trend for the majority to follow. But it is surprising that even top brands were unable to recognize it earlier, and began to actively apply these ideas only now, when the trend is at its peak. Of course, this means its rapid decline and oblivion..

new-retro4

Here it is necessary to step aside and dwell a little more on the trend itself, especially since it has turned out to be one of the most ambitious and influential in recent decades. As is often the case with trends and styles, decorators rather than furniture brands set the tone most vividly and accurately. And this is exactly what happened in interior design with the new retro trend: several years have passed, and it still has not surrendered its positions. But to understand where this craze for vintage and retro in interior design came from, you need to step back and look wider..

best-milan-blog-salone-mobile

Surprisingly, new retro furniture and interiors are just part of a global trend based on … hipster culture. It all started with hipsters, growing beards, vintage cafe signs, picnics and burgers, hipster publications, Instagram, and tweed bike rides. This culture first had a huge impact on street fashion, video industry, graphic design (look at any trendy cafe, hairdresser or an agency, so far to go: the Buro 24/7 logo), and only then it became so noticeable that decorators and object designers adopted its rules.

foto-99-88-66

Decorators who picked up this trend and talentedly developed ideas to a serious direction in interior design are most often not hipsters. But they were one of the first to feel the trend, its opportunities to rethink old techniques in a new way, and, most importantly, they perfectly understand the needs of a new audience that is ready to pay. Decorators like Jean-Louis Denio, Gilles & Boissier or, for example, Joseph Diran came in handy. The press fell in love with them. And if the press is in love with someone or something, the fashion for it will be!
How then does new retro differ from interiors created in vintage style, which, for example, are very popular in the USA. This is exactly what – a new audience. Vintage and retro are just a tool, a reason to tell the story in a completely new way to a relatively young audience. In fact, new retro is a trend (and maybe already a style) that is addressed to young.

limited-edition-furniture-2016-888

Several signs of new retro, among which at the very top are marble (often matte), brass and velvet. But there is also a place for other techniques: here there is a classic breakdown of walls in a modern interior, and wooden panels on the walls, wooden countertops with rough raw edges, often lack of curtains on the windows, fireplace portals, imitation of vintage chandeliers of Italian design from the 60s-70s, large -sized art on the walls (preferably made of brass or copper), «dusty» pastel shades in decoration and textiles (however, often in combination with bright and deep tones – red, mustard, dark blue and deep emerald, wallpaper (often with exaggerated large patterns), metallization with shades of bronze and gold, including rose gold, vintage incandescent lamps, items from flea markets, use of thick leather in decoration, large polyhedrons in floor tiles, custom made items, deliberate lack of branded items, fur, silver shades in items (including plumbing).

new-retro333

The exhibition is full of design ideas in new colors and materials, such as the famous chair by designer Joe Ponti for Molteni.&C in new upholstery in gray-pink or the famous «Red and blue chair» Gerrit Rietvelda stopped being red and blue at the stand – Cassina released it in a fashionable tone «dusty mint».

new-retro16

Lots of mustard colored velvet showed B&B Italia, and Imperfetto Lab brought «gold» topic to the absolute, presenting his «golden» armchair Nido.

new-retro18

But, I repeat, this time it was possible to more or less accurately predict everything that will be shown at most of the stands. However, this does not disappoint at all. On the contrary, it raises the main and not yet resolvable question – what will happen next, after the next favorite is forgotten? It is still difficult to give a definite answer. The attempts of designers to set new directions and experiment with them are too subtle. It would be logical to assume that today’s decorative style, rich in materials and colors, will be replaced by moderate minimalism with an emphasis on environmental friendliness..

Rating
( 8 assessment, average 4 from 5 )
dizainall.com

Спальня

Что нового нам предлагают дизайнеры, выставка Salone del Mobile в Милане

new-retro1

Выставка iSaloni в Милане

В середине апреля есть всего одно место в мире, куда любители дизайна стекаются сотнями тысяч, а возвращаются домой с чемоданами каталогов, образцами материалов и полным набором впечатлений от увиденного. И это, конечно, мебельная выставка Salone del Mobile в Милане или коротко iSaloni

new-retro.jpg

Ни одно событие в области дизайна не способно сравниться по масштабности с тем, что происходит в Милане. И дело не только в iSaloni. Весь город на неделю становится гигантской площадкой для презентаций, инсталляций и архитектурных выставок: коктейли, церемонии награждения, интервью, вечеринки. В магазинах, в ресторанах, тут и там встречаются журналисты с красными сумками на колесах с надписью iSaloni. На каждом шагу сталкиваешься со звездными дизайнерами. Отели и авиакомпании поднимают цены в несколько раз, а очереди желающих сесть в такси часто растягиваются на сотни метров. Невозможно ошибиться — в Милане проходит главная мебельная выставка планеты и неделя дизайна.

new-retro666

В этом году iSaloni отмечает свое 55-летие. В рамках выставки прошел Международный салон мебельных аксессуаров, а также две биеннале: Международный салон кухонной мебели (Euro Cucina) и Международный салон ванных комнат (Salone Internazionale del Bagno). Не хватит и нескольких дней, чтобы обойти все 24 павильона. Это настоящее дизайн-сафари может быть изнуряющим, но, несомненно, очень вдохновляющим.
Первое, на что сразу обращаешь внимание – новый дизайн стендов. Несколько прошлых лет даже топовые бренды не обновляли внешний вид своих площадок и это явно было связано с кризисом. В этом году все иначе: все стенды полностью изменены, а в коллекциях множество новинок. Что косвенно подтверждает вывод – европейский рынок оправился. И это отличная новость!

new-retro2

Самое главное и предсказуемое открытие с точки зрения дизайна, которое моментально замечаешь – тренд new retro завладел умами подавляющего числа производителей. При входе на любой стенд современной мебели можно смело закрыть глаза и назвать несколько основных признаков этого тренда, которые присутствуют среди новинок. С большой вероятностью вы попадете в точку. Это всегда будет сочетание мрамора, латуни и бархата пыльных оттенков.

milano-salone-del-mobile-4

Прием комбинировать все эти элементы – абсолютно коммерческий ход. Это не плохо и не хорошо, на то он и тренд, чтобы большинство ему следовало. Но удивительно, что даже топовые бренды не смогли распознать его раньше, а начали активно применять эти идеи только сейчас, когда тренд на пике. Разумеется, это означает его скорый спад и забвение.

new-retro4

Здесь необходимо отойти в сторону и немного подробнее остановиться на самом тренде, тем более, что он оказался одним из наиболее масштабных и влиятельных за последние десятилетия. Как это часто бывает с тенденциями и стилями, наиболее ярко и точно им задают тон декораторы, а не мебельные бренды. И в дизайне интерьера с тенденцией new retro так и случилось: прошло уже несколько лет, а она все еще не сдала своих позиций. Но, чтобы понять, откуда вообще взялось это повальное увлечение винтажем и ретро в дизайне интерьеров, нужно отойти еще на шаг назад и посмотреть шире.

best-milan-blog-salone-mobile

Удивительно, но мебель и интерьеры в стиле new retro всего лишь часть глобальной тенденции, в основе которой лежит… хипстерская культура. Все началось именно с хипстеров, отращивания бород, винтажных вывесок кафе, пикников и бургерных, хипстерских изданий, Instagram, и твидовых велосипедных прогулок.Эта культура сначала оказала колоссальное влияние на стрит-фешн, видеоиндустрию, графический дизайн (посмотрите на любое модное кафе, парикмахерскую или агенство, да что далеко ходить: на логотип Buro 24/7 ), а уже потом стала настолько заметной, что ее правила приняли декораторы и предметные дизайнеры.

foto-99-88-66

Декораторы, подхватившие эту тенденцию и талантливо развившие идеи до серьезного направления в дизайне интерьера, чаще всего никакие не хипстеры. Но они одни из первых прочувствовали тренд, его возможности по-новому переосмыслить старые приемы и, главное, они отлично понимают потребности новой аудитории, которая готова платить. Декораторы вроде Жана-Луи Денио, Gilles & Boissier или, например, Жозефа Дирана пришлись как нельзя кстати. Пресса влюбилась в них. А если пресса в кого-то или что-то влюблена, моде на это быть!
Чем же тогда new retro отличается от интерьеров, созданных в винтажном стиле, которые, например, очень популярны в США. Вот именно этим — новой аудиторией. Винтаж и ретро — всего лишь инструмент, повод рассказать историю совершенно по-новому относительно молодой аудитории. По сути, new retro — это тренд (а может быть уже и стиль), который адресован молодым.

limited-edition-furniture-2016-888

Несколько признаков new retro, среди которых на самой вершине стоят мрамор (часто матовый), латунь и бархат. Но есть здесь место и другим приемам: тут и классическая разбивка стен в современном интерьере, и деревянные панели на стенах, деревянные столешницы с грубыми необработанными краями, часто отсутсвие штор на окнах, каминные порталы, имитации винтажных люстр итальянского дизайна 60х-70х годов, крупно-габаритный арт на стенах (желательно из латуни или меди), «пыльные» пастельные оттенки в отделке и текстиле (впрочем, часто в сочетании с яркими и глубокими тонами — рыжим, горчичным, темно-синим и глубоким изумрудным, обои (часто с преувеличенно крупными рисунком), металлизация с оттенками бронзы и золота, включая розовое золото, винтажные лампы накаливания, предметы с блошиных рынков, использование толстой кожи в отделке, крупных многогранников в напольной плитке, предметы custom made, нарочитое отсутствие брендированных предметов, меха, серебряных оттенков в предметах (включая сантехнику).

new-retro333

На выставке повсеместно встречается множество идей дизайна в новых оттенках и материалах, например знаменитый стул дизайнера Джо Понти для Molteni&C в новой обивке в серо-розовом цвете или знаменитый «Красно-синий стул» Геррита Ритвельда перестал быть красно-синим на стенде — Cassina выпустила его в модном тоне «пыльная мята».

new-retro16

Много бархата цвета сочной горчицы показало B&B Italia, а Imperfetto Lab довела «золотую» тему до абсолюта, представив свое «золотое» кресло Nido.

new-retro18

Но, повторюсь, в этот раз можно было более менее безошибочно предсказать все, что покажут на большинстве стендов. Впрочем, это нисколько не разочаровывает. Наоборот, ставит главный и пока не разрешимый вопрос — что же будет дальше, после забвения очередного фаворита? Однозначный ответ пока дать сложно. Слишком неочевидны попытки дизайнеров задать новые направления и эксперименты с ними. Логично было бы предположить, что на смену сегодняшнему богатому на материалы и цвета декоративному стилю снова придет умеренный минимализм с акцентом на экологичность.

About the author

homeashome

Leave a Comment